wordwhacker: (Default)
I went through my "Holy Crap I Need To Write This Down Right Now" book of ideas recently. It's almost full. I've carried this thing around with me for at least a year now, probably closer to a year and a half. The book is showing the wear, too - I'll be glad to move to a new one so I don't have to lug it around and risk destroying it.

Anyway, since ideas aren't much good unless they're mined and refined, I picked out a bunch of story seeds that I want to work on over the next four months. So I'll never have an excuse not to remember what they are, I'll post them here, and hopefully they'll be cryptic enough to also be amusing. Don't worry - I know what I mean*.


  • Letters from camp
  • Teen Suicide
  • Sympathy for Chad
  • Sam's 100th Birthday
  • Angel hangin' in Hell
  • Someone Else's Dreams
  • Time Capsule
  • Under Stood
  • Trees for the dead
  • Dead kid on the bus
  • Winter is the best time for burglary
  • Dog, camp, death
  • Life is Pain
  • Chris + Amy
  • Accidental Math genius
  • Cass + the Space Race
  • Dating a Liar


There's a lot more in there, but those are the ones that are fleshed out enough that I don't have an excuse not to write them, already, or at least flesh them out considerably. 17 ideas, and about the same number weeks until school starts up again. Factoring in the editing I need to do (and a possible romance novel - [livejournal.com profile] the_bookshelves? We still doin' that?), I think it's do-able. (I'm gonna MAKE it do-able.)


* Though there's the odd entry in there that I don't recognize. Like this one: "Remember the profile tracing exercise." Uh. WTF?
wordwhacker: (Default)
Written for [livejournal.com profile] crimsonata, Project #07 - about a character that is the embodiment of something. In this case: Trust.

This story is still in a larval stage, though I promise I've given it a read-through edit for consistency and spelling/grammar. Some more notes before we get to the story: )

And now, on to the story.


Keeping it Real - short story, 1,700 words, first draft )
wordwhacker: (Default)
"Finish. The difference between being a writer and being a person of talent is the discipline it takes to apply the seat of your pants to the seat of your chair and finish. Don't talk about doing it. Do it. Finish."

-- E.L. Konigsburg, as quoted on the Critique Circle main page.

I've been thinking about this a lot lately. I want to finish things. That's part of the reason I've been hesitant to start anything new lately... well, that and a general sense of "not knowing what I want to write." I'm starting into a period of uncertainty. I get these from time to time - I start questioning my skills, reprimanding myself for not reading enough or researching markets enough.

I'm torn between wanting to pick a specific market or direction or even a single magazine, do some research and WRITE for it... or just casting all thoughts of publication to the wind and focusing on reading and writing without worrying about saleability. Both are appealing. (Hmm. Maybe I should go Route 2 and use the ensuing rejection letters to propel me into "write for my own sake" mode. ;-)

Something I'm proud of is that I have written absolutely EVERY DAY since mid-December. Sometimes it was no more than a sentence... sometimes it was an entire essay or letter. But words, prose, has come out of me in one form or another every single day.
wordwhacker: (Default)
I joined [livejournal.com profile] 100originalfics, and posted a story. That means I have 99 left to go. Eep.

So in view of actually moving forward on that front, would everybody on my friends list pretty please do the following:

1) Go here and scroll down to the big table of numbers and words. You can't miss it.
2) Skim through the list and pick one of the prompt words. (Note: Don't pick "85. She" because that's the one I've done.)
3) Comment here with the prompt number and word.

I will then, sometime over the next month (after exams and the like) write a short story or vignette with that prompt. (Not particularly relevant: It will involve the main character from Unhealthy Attraction, one Jess Craven, Englishman and bastard extraordinaire. Except that he isn't really - he just likes to think he is.)

Okay? GO!
wordwhacker: (Default)
I went to a writing workshop tonight. Extremely interesting, extremely fun - we did a 10 minute writing activity, and I got lots of great comments (and laughs) about the story snippit I wrote. As a result I've talked myself into sending one of my stories to the writer in residence at the University, which she will give me feedback about on Friday. Eek! So, uh, for any of you who have read my writing, is there any particular story (or part thereof) that you'd suggest I send her? It shouldn't be too long, around 2,000 words max.


This is the story snippit I wrote, which I have dictated in Mp3 format here. The prompt: a story about a man and a woman fighting over a piece of jewellery.


Oh No You Don't - vignette, 200 words )
wordwhacker: (Default)
"I notice that you use plain, simple language, short words and brief sentences. That is the way to write English - it is the modern way and the best way. Stick to it; don't let fluff and flowers and verbosity creep in. When you catch an adjective, kill it. No, I don't mean utterly, but kill most of them - then the rest will be valuable. They weaken when they are close together. They give strength when they are wide apart. An adjective habit, or a wordy, diffuse, flowery habit, once fastened upon a person, is as hard to get rid of as any other vice."

- Mark Twain


1) I couldn't possibly agree more, and
2) Damn, I've gotta read me some more Mark Twain. I've known this for a while - this quote just reminds me why.


I've stalled a bit on the writing front, partly because I'm trying to focus a bit more on reading and critting. This isn't necessarily a bad thing. A few friends have written some novel-length things that I want to read, and I'd like to be able to devote my time to them. If only [livejournal.com profile] crimsonata would perk up, I would have an occasional writing challenge to think about, to the tune of about one every month and a half. That sounds just about right to me.

It's done!

Mar. 2nd, 2006 11:52 pm
wordwhacker: (Default)
The story I've been working on for the past few weeks is done! And it has a new title, too: You in the Mirror.
It's about 4,700 words long. And I would be extremely pleased if you'd read it. Any comments at all would be great.

I hope to do a lot of reading and critiquing over the next week, so if you've written something that you'd like me to read and comment on, let me know, m'kay?
wordwhacker: (Default)
I've been working on this story just about every spare moment I've had for the past two or three weeks. Sadly, it hasn't been enough for me to actually finish it. I like how it's coming, though, and I'm eager to wrap it up, because I'm finally getting to a point at which I can have the characters interact for a long-ish, (hopefully) engaging scene. So far the prose is exposition-heavy with very little dialogue (VERY out of the ordinary for me), and has a lot of musing by the narrator (VERY typical for me.)

Once it's finished I'll edit this post and make a new one linking to it. I'd love to hear what you think so far, though.

EDIT: 03/02/06: Done! I'll separate the LJ-cut into two parts, so if you've read Part I you can just skip straight to Part II.

I would really appreciate some feedback on this one. I'm really happy with it for a first draft, but I need to know whether or not people other than me are following this. I think I'm going to sit on it for a bit (maybe until after exams) and then see if I can improve it, weave in some threads of ideas that I vaguely mention in this round but wanted to go into more detail with, if possible.

Oh, and the rating on this has gone up since I last posted it. It now contains at least a mildly/moderately erotic scene. No sex, though. Just as an FYI. I doubt it would even trip many text scanners.

I'm also changing the title. Was "Little Girl Who Wasn't".


You in the Mirror - short story, 4,700 words, first draft - Part I )


Part II )
wordwhacker: (Default)
So I said to myself earlier today, I said, "Cass? You need to update your writing journal." Apparently I said it louder than I thought, because [livejournal.com profile] the_bookshelves promptly updated. Neat. Has my cerebral cortex gone wireless? Man, I've gotta invest in a firewall or somethin'. I'm probably all spyware infested already.

First, a week after the fact: The Writing Workshop )

So if any of the writers on my friends list need any info about publishing, hit me up. I probably have a pamphlet and/or a website for it.

In other writing news, I've been working on a story lately and having a ball. I'm almost writing it twice at once - I started it longhand, and am still in the process of penning it. But I've gone back and started typing what I've written so far, adding and culling things as I go. I'm enjoying the process a lot. What I write longhand feels chunky and soupy, cluttered but raw and right out of my head. Then I put it on the screen. Just seeing it typed in nice, clean characters in black on a white background is making the story come alive again, clearer and more defined, and is making the editing process feel a lot more involved and lively than it has when I've typed my first draft. I'm going to have to do this more often.

It's due for [livejournal.com profile] crimsonata on Friday, so I'll post it here then, assuming I'm done. I'm pretty sure I will be. That is, if I stop making LJ posts and get back to actually writing. *cough*

SO! How about you folks, my lackadaisical readers / fellow writers? What projects are you working on / putting off? Any new and interesting ideas bite you on the butt lately? I've had a few, but I really want to concentrate on this one and get it out of the way. I want to actually finish some things this year. (Other than school papers, anyway.)

Holy crap!

Feb. 8th, 2006 11:08 pm
wordwhacker: (Default)
Just when you think you've figured everything out... )

And last but not least, I'm (somewhat amazingly) registered to go to this writing workshop next Wednesday. Boy, am I ever glad I'm midterm-free next week. (After Monday, anyway.) I'm extremely motivated now to keep working on my writing - actually turn out a story or two that I'm a little bit proud of, maybe actually start working on a screenplay or three. (As a long-term goal, I'm keeping this Fellowship in mind. I mean, why the hell not?)
wordwhacker: (Default)
This would be fun. I'd have to miss a day of classes - by which I mean, two: Psych and History. And getting there might be a problem, seeing as how it's in Fredericton, where I most decidedly do not live. But if I can swing it, I think I'm going to go for it. (I basically have two options: A local writer might be going, and if so, I could get a lift up and back with her in exchange for gas money. If she can't go, I might be able to go the day before and stay overnight with my aunt and cousin - but that's a bit of a stretch.)

At any rate, it's an opportunity that doesn't come around all that often in these here parts.
wordwhacker: (Default)
So I just fixed a glaring error in the story I posted yesterday, and in the process, I discovered something.

That story sucks.

And you know what? That's GREAT! )

These are the problems that jump out at me, and a few ideas as to how to fix them. )

Will I actually re-write it? Maybe. It's tempting to see how much better I can make it. At the moment I think I'm just going to let it be, and work on a more meaty piece of writing (one that hopefully won't be such a soda cracker.)
wordwhacker: (Default)
I've been doing a little writing every day, even if it's only been a line or two. I don't think I've missed a day yet. I've been craving an actual project, though - I had mostly been doing little journal entries for one of my characters, which are fun, but are running a little thin these days. So I've been doing some outlining over the past couple of days, and I'm working on the following things:

- a short-story for [livejournal.com profile] crimsonata, in which the main character has to be revealed at the end as having been pretending to be something they're not. The outline is just about done; I'm-a see if I can convince myself to work on actually writing it tonight.

- a 'two minute' romance story for the local radio station. )

I also need to start reading/critiquing more short stories, but that's a worry for another day.
wordwhacker: (Default)
Starting December 20th, 2005, I'm making a commitment to write something, every single day. No theme limits or word limits or anything like that. Two words, or two thousand words; something new, or a continuation of an old story; I will write something every day. And no, that doesn't count editing old stuff; complete rewrites, however, are fair game.
wordwhacker: (Default)
Zokutou word meter
50,334 / 50,000
(100.7%)


Yes, that's right, I just wrote over 8,500 words in one night. Are they good? Oh, hell no. This is probably the roughest draft I've ever created of ANYTHING, ever. But I got it all down, even ended the story, though I wound up summing up a lot. I don't care. I have lots of author's notes the whole way through with ideas for how to re-write. This thing is a goldmine that I will eventually turn into a finished draft. But it is 50K long, and a complete story from start to finish, and I am a whole two or three days ahead of the game.

I am free, FREE! (... to do work on school projects. Crap.)

Now I'm going to go collapse.

In conclusion: cousins I WIN. Thank you, and goodnight.
wordwhacker: (Default)
Booyah, mofos!

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
41,390 / 50,000
(82.8%)


That's right - I'm almost caught up to the pace. Holy crap. I'm finally hitting my stride with this novel, over the past few days - I actually think the story's going to go significantly over 50K. I think it's a little (okay, a LOT) front-heavy at the moment, too - the action from 15,000 to 30,000 words needs to be maybe a third as long, or shorter, as it is right now. But that's fine - slogging through that mess is what gave me a lot of the plot details I needed to get to the good stuff. NaNoWriMo works wonders, I'm tellin' ya.

If I can, I'm going to wrap this thing up within the next couple of days (writing instead of studying? Hell, yes!) so I can concentrate on an essay and general exam-studying from Monday-ish until the end of the first week of December.

Okay. Bedtime now. (Just typed "Bedtown." I think that's a sign.)
wordwhacker: (Default)
Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
32,824 / 50,000
(65.6%)


2,500 ish words tonight. Not too shabby. I'd write more (I had kinda wanted to get at least 3K written today), but it's getting late and I need to study for two midterms tomorrow. Which I've been doing intermittently as the night has progressed, but meh. Can't hurt to be prepared. (So says the keener.) School 1, NaNo 0. (Oh yeah, sure, as if that's the score.)
wordwhacker: (Default)
Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
30,254 / 50,000
(60.5%)



I made it to 30K! Just like I said I'd do! Clearly I am awesome! And now I have a headache! And I need to go to bed!

Something like 4,500 words. 4,500 wretched, wretched words. But they are mine. And they are glorious. (ly awful.)
wordwhacker: (Default)
Okay. I have some reading to do for school tonight, and some cooking to do (I am out of chilli. Say what?!) I also want to get as many words written as humanly possible, without losing sleep.

So here's the plan:

I cook... and write... at the same time.

Shocking, I know. But it can be done. Especially with chilli, which has a long and generally boring simmering period. Now all I have to do is... uh.... get off my butt and do it.

I shall update at midnight-ish with my final wordcount, which had dang-well better be at least 30K.
wordwhacker: (Default)
Long-ish time, no update. I'm getting a little behind - I had a couple of big midterms at the beginning of this week that really threw me off the pace. But I'm making up some good time (got in about 3,500 words just yesterday, and managed at least a few hundred on most days, if nothing else.) And lo, I have broken the half-way mark!


Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
25,731 / 50,000
(51.5%)



In celebration, I have opened my present to myself - licorice-mint tea and a new teaball, with which I am IN LOVE. But we shall hold off until December to elope, shoddy-but-complete manuscript in hand.

Actually, I'm having a lot of fun just hacking away at different takes on ideas. A few times now I've interrupted a chapter part way through with an author's note, whereupon I ramble about some ideas as to how the chapter might work better, and then I'll just restart it right there. Hey, it's all words - and why not leave myself some clues as to how to reconstruct it once I finally get to re-writing? (I'll admit that I also like writing myself author's notes. "Dear Author: Could the ending sentence of this chapter be ANY MORE LAME?! No, really. I think you deserve the literary equivalent of about a hundred hail-mary's or something, yeesh.")
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 08:41 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios